Montecristo Flock wins 2017 Flock Competition

Many congratulations to Mrs Sophie Arlott from Lenton, Lincolnshire, whose Montecristo flock scooped the top award in this year's Flock Competition and is the new Champion Flock. Reserve was Amy Readhead-Higgins' Sutherland flock in Leiston, Suffolk. The winner of Class A (Flock of 40 ewes or more) is Goodwood Estate while first prize in the Novice Section goes to Max Welton. Judge Stephen Humphrey emphasized that the standard of sheep in the competition was very high, concluding that in every flock he spotted sheep that he would have liked to have had at home.


Class A          Flock of 40 ewes or over

Winner is awarded the Berkhampstead Rose Bowl and £25


                                    1st        Goodwood Estate Co Ltd

                                    2nd       P E Goldsworthy MBE


Class B          Flock of 10 – 39 ewes

Winner is awarded the Gaddesden Trophy and £25


                                    1st        Sophie Arlott

                                    2nd       Amy Readhead-Higgins

                                    3rd        Antony Glaves

                                    4th        Howard Wood

                                    5th        Lorraine Clements



Class C          NOVICE Competition, not to have won a first prize

      Winner is awarded the Frank Grantham Trophy and £25


            1st        Max Welton

            2nd       Louise Chiswell



Tufton Beamish Trophy to the Champion Flock

Sophie Arlott

Reserve: Amy Readhead-Higgins


Hobgen Salver for the best intake of shearling ewes

Mrs Amy Redhead-Higgins


Miller Hallett Trophy for the best ewe lambs

Patrick Goldsworthy MBE


Paynter Wool Trophy for the flock with the best wool

Max Welton


Noakes Trophy for the best three lambs of each sex,

sired by a named ram, present and shown

Antony Glaves


The Jim Cresswell Trophy for the best ram or group of rams

Goodwood Estate Co Ltd


The Beryl Marsh Trophy for the best newcomer

Max Welton