2015 Flock Competition

The Spratton Flock of J Mark Hawtin was named the champion flock in the Society’s 2015 flock competition, which was judged by Denis Jenkins who enjoyed an extensive tour of the country viewing flocks.


Based in Northampton, and approaching its 30th year, the Spratton flock was founded on traditional bloodlines with the purchase of stock from Miss Jane Paynter and Michael Rosenberg. Judge Denis Jenkins commented that he was much impressed with the flock and that “the uniformity was near perfect, achieved with careful breeding and selection”.


Reserve Champion flock in this year’s competition was awarded to Duncan and Monica Crundwell. Their Ladywell Flock impressed the judge, who declared that it had been “a very close run contest”.


The winners of Class A, for flocks of more than 40 breeding ewes, was the Ridings Flock of Messrs Wakeham-Dawson & Harmer, with the Goodwood Flock, managed by Nick Page, being awarded second place. The judge commented that both of these large flocks displayed “brilliant stockmanship and management”.


Class C, for flocks not having previously won a first prize, attracted seven entries and was won by the Webbellis Flock of Patrick Goldsworthy, Grafham, Huntingdon. The judge commented that “a lot of work had gone in to the flock, paying great attention to detail and leading the way with performance recording”.


The trophy for the best newcomer to the flock competition was awarded to Mrs Lorraine Clements of Normanton-on-Wolds, Nottingham.


Meanwhile, the Hogben Salver for the best intake of shearling ewes was won by the reserve champion flock of Dunacan and Monica Crundwell, with the Ladywell flock also winning the Noakes Trophy for the best three lambs of each sex sired by a named ram.


Winning the Miller Hallett Trophy for the best ewe lambs was Amy Redhead Higgins, while Holly Lutkin picked up the Jim Cressweel Trophy for the best ram or group of rams.


And wrapping up the silverware was the champion flock which also picked up the Paynter Wool Trophy for the flock with the best wool.


The judge extended his thanks to all entrants for their hospitality and congratulated them on a high standard of sheep in all classes.